Complete Story


Don Boehm Named 2019 Ohio Certified Crop Advisor of the Year

Boehm leads the OABA's agronomy subcommittee

The Ohio Certified Crop Adviser (CCA) Program recently announced that Don Boehm of Findlay, Ohio is the 2019 CCA of the Year. Boehm serves as the crop protection manager at Legacy Farmers Cooperative with more than 30 years of crop advising experience and service. He is responsible for weed management recommendations, soil sampling and scouting, as well as developing implementation strategies for the 4R principles and exploring ways to utilize new technology for grower customers.


“Don leads the agronomy employees at Legacy to get their CCAs and follow good recommendations and practices,” said David Wurm, who nominated Boehm for the award. “He practices what he preaches – implementing nitrogen and phosphorus efficiency practices on his own farm.”


Boehm is committed to improving the industry through his engagement. He currently leads the Ohio AgriBusiness Association’s (OABA) agronomy subcommittee and serves on the industry education planning committee. He was also instrumental in driving Legacy Farmers Cooperative to be among the first facilities certified in the 4R Nutrient Stewardship Certification Program.


“Don represents the very best of Ohio CCAs,” said Logan Haake, chairman of the Ohio CCA board. “We are proud to add his name to the list of CCAs of the Year, as one of our longest serving Ohio CCAs.”


Sponsored by the Ohio CCA Program, the state award recognizes an individual who is highly motivated, delivers exceptional customer service for farmer clients in nutrient management, soil and water management, integrated pest management, and crop production, and has contributed substantially to the exchange of ideas and the transfer of agronomic knowledge within the agricultural industry in Ohio.


Boehm was recognized at the 2019 Conservation Tillage Conference on March 5 in Ada, Ohio. He received a plaque and a $1500 cash award, courtesy of the Ohio Association Independent Crop Consultants, Ohio Farm Bureau Federation and Nutrien.


Recent honorees include: John Fritz, The Andersons, Inc.; Timothy Berning, Precision Agri Services, Inc.; Matthew VanTillburg, VanTillburg Farms; and Chuck Gates, Seed Consultants Inc. To view the full list of past award recipients, visit


For more information about the Ohio CCA Program, visit

Printer-Friendly Version