Complete Story


Ohio Congresswoman Co-sponsors Bill to Support Local Communities

The bill directs $250 billion to communities in need

Following a conference call with municipality mayors in Ohio’s Third Congressional District earlier this week, U.S. Congresswoman Joyce Beatty (OH-03) co-sponsored the Coronavirus Community Relief Act, H.R. 6467, a bill that would authorize $250 billion in stabilization funds for local communities and cities across the U.S. that are facing soaring economic and societal costs because of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

During Beatty’s Municipality Mayors Coronavirus Conference Call on April 6, several elected officials highlighted the fact that the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, H.R. 748, provides stabilization funds for states and larger communities, but limits localities qualifying for direct support to those with populations of more than 500,000. As a result, large metropolitan areas like Franklin County and Dayton are excluded from receiving stabilization funds.

“Cities and townships across Ohio’s Third Congressional District—wholly contained in Franklin County—are struggling with the impacts of this public health crisis,” Beatty said. “That includes funding and maintaining emergency operations, public awareness and outreach and much more, all while facing a depleted income tax revenue base required to financially sustain these critical services.” Beatty said. “I urge my Democratic and Republican colleagues to support this important piece of legislation because the coronavirus is affecting all of us—whether we live in small towns, large metropolitan areas or anywhere in between.”

Please select this link to read the complete press release from Congresswoman Joyce Beatty.

Printer-Friendly Version