Complete Story


Ohio University Names Its Newest President

Dr. Lori Stewart Gonzalez will succeed President Hugh Sherma

Dr. Lori Stewart Gonzalez, an experienced higher education leader who has held senior academic roles at multiple public universities and is a native of the Appalachian region, will become Ohio University’s 23rd president on July 1, 2023. 

Gonzalez will succeed President Hugh Sherman, who agreed to serve a two-year term with plans to retire at the end of this academic year.

The selection of Gonzalez concludes an extensive national search that began with a thorough University-wide engagement project early in Fall 2022 that both set expectations and guided the overall search process.

Please select this link to read the complete article from Ohio University Press.

Printer-Friendly Version