Complete Story


Ohio Trucking Association Names Fleet Safety Awards Winners

These companies enhance the industry’s image through their safety commitments

On Sept. 17, 2019, the Ohio Trucking Association (OTA) named its 2019 Fleet Safety Awards winners. These organizations have upheld OTA’s mission to enhance the industry’s image through their commitment to safety while their drivers transport goods on our highways every day. Awards are made on the basis of accident frequency ratios, which include data from the mileage and accidents reported to the Ohio Department of Transportation within a calendar year. 

This year, the Small Division President’s Award was given to GetGo Transportation. GetGo Transportation, founded in 2001, and domiciled in Millbury, Ohio, provides premium regional truckload services and communication to clients in Ohio, Michigan, the larger Midwest, and the southeastern and eastern coastlines. Anthony Tomase, the owner of GetGo Transportation, has been a board member of the Ohio Trucking Association since 2017 and currently serves as the Secretary of the Board. Tony is also a member of the Ohio Trucking Association’s Team 88.

The Large Division President’s Award was given to Pitt Ohio. Pitt Ohio uses its less-than-truckload (LTL) service in the mid-Atlantic and Midwest regions. The family-run business has previously won the American Trucking Associations President Trophy for operating the safest fleet in the United States.

Other winners include: Five Star Trucking, in the less than 1 million mile category; GetGo Transportation, in the 1-3 million miles category; Thomas E. Keller Trucking, in the 3-5 million miles category; Wooster Motor Ways, in the 5-10 million miles category; and Pitt Ohio, in the over 20 million miles category. Five Star Trucking, founded in 1974, is a full-brokerage logistics company operating in 48 states, and is currently in its third generation of management. The company recently released its “Five Stars of Success” program, in which employees are encouraged to follow the company’s values on an everyday basis. Thomas E. Keller Trucking, founded in 1978, is a family-owned and operated business consisting of over 150 tractors and 450 dry van food grade trailers. The company services the Midwest, mid-Atlantic, southeastern, and southern United States. Wooster Motor Ways is a family-owned company that currently holds a 99 percent on-time average, and is committed to drivers and owner-operators who are focused on safety. Paul Williams, President of Wooster Motor Ways, served as the Ohio Trucking Association’s Chairman of the Board from 2012-2014. Dave Funk, Director of Maintenance for Wooster Motor Ways, was Past Chairman of the Ohio Trucking Maintenance Council, and currently serves on the TechComp Steering Committee.

OTA would like to congratulate all companies on these milestone achievements and thank them for their dedication to safety in the transportation and logistics industry. OTA is a trade association with more than 800 members. Founded in 1918, the association promotes safety, innovation and professionalism in the trucking industry.

Printer-Friendly Version